As a member-funded, not for profit organisation CME is governed by a number of Councils and Committees.

Executive Council

The management and control of the business and affairs of CME is vested in the Executive Council, a board of CME member company representatives elected annually at the Annual General Meeting.

CME's Executive Council comprises the most influential leaders of the Western Australian resources sector.

The Executive Council is CME's policy making body and plays an important role in decision making on key strategic policy issues being addressed by CME. At the highest level, the role of Executive Council is to:

  • Approve policy
  • Approve longer term strategy
  • Be a forum for issues
  • Review macro performance

Executive Council 2016/17


Brian Reilly, Cameco Australia

Vice Presidents

Edgar Basto, BHP Billiton Iron Ore
Clayton Walker, Rio Tinto
Jeroen Buren, Woodside Energy Ltd


Simon Butterworth, Alcoa of Australia
Mike Erickson, AngloGold Ashanti Australia

Pat Donovan, ATCO Gas Australia
Peter Stokes, Barminco Limited
Greg Heylen, BGC Contracting
Edgar Basto, BHP Billiton Iron Ore
Eddy Haegel, BHP Billiton Nickel West
Steve Coughlan, Byrnecut
Brian Reilly, Cameco Australia
Chris Mallios, CFC Group
Peter Fairclough, Chevron Australia
Chen Zeng, CITIC Pacific Limited
Richard Fagan, Cristal Mining
Anthony Cribb, DBNGP (Dampier Bunbury Pipeline)
Peter Bamford, Doray Minerals Ltd
Mike Sutton, Downer EDI Mining
Simon Jessop, Evolution Mining
John Galvin, Georgiou Group Ltd
Richard Weston, Gold Fields Australia Pty Ltd
Garry Green, Iluka Resources Limited
John Williams, Inpex
Sybrandt Van Dyk, Macmahon Contractors Pty Ltd
Peter Hancock, Minara Resources
Rick Watsford, Minerals and Metals Group (MMG)
Jim Beyer, Mount Gibson Iron
Scott Sullivan, Newcrest Mining Limited
Lara Bruhns, Newmont Asia Pacific
George Bauk, Northern Minerals Ltd
Bill Beament, Northern Star Resources
Clayton Walker, Rio Tinto Limited
Bill Hart, Roy Hill Holdings
Paul Ryan, Shell Development (Australia) Pty Ltd
Stuart Griffiths, Sinosteel Midwest Corporation Limited
Ricus Grimbeek, South32
Kous Kirsten, St Barbara Limited
Douglas Thompson, Thiess Australian Mining
Vanessa Guthrie, Toro Energy Limited
Jeroen Buren, Woodside Energy Ltd


Management Committee

CME's Management Committee determines the important issues and the agenda of the organisation. The role of the Management Committee is to:

  • Ensure compliance and the safety of the organisation
  • Set the strategic direction
  • Contribute to and approve the strategy
  • Approve and oversee the execution of the business plan
  • Management of the organisation

Standing Committees

CME is structured to pursue its objectives through complementary programs in safety and health, land access, people strategies, environment, infrastructure and economics and tax. Policy decisions on these matters are made by the Executive Council with input from a number of Standing Committees and key advisory groups. 

Visit the Portfolios page to find out more about the Standing Committees and working groups operating in each of these areas.

Regional Councils

CME recognises the importance of the resources sector in the state's regions and the active promotion of its role in the community.

CME's Regional Councils provide forums for regionally based managers to engage on issues and provide input into CME's decision making process. 

Visit the Regions page to find out more about the Councils operating in each of these regions.